ESRI Shape files not happening

This forum is dedicated to discussions about the SBuilderX update for 64-bit Windows platforms.
zulfiqar

ESRI Shape files not happening

Post by zulfiqar » Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Hi,

I am new to Sbuilderx and I am trying to generate roads for my country using the correct roads shapefile.

What I did was Append ESRI shapefiles and selected all the all lines and clicked on Compile BGL, but when the Compile BGL window pops up there is nothing I can click except "start fsx" and "compile" hence it says there is nothing selected. So it does not do anything. Maybe I am missing something or not understanding how to create the roads from a ESRI file.

Kindly request some help.

I use Xplane 10 but want FSX to have roads for my country INDIA.

Thanks.

meshman

Re: ESRI Shape files not happening

Post by meshman » Thu Oct 29, 2015 2:48 pm

One of the requirements for anything to compile is that it is in the correct 'format'.

In GIS terms, there is a Projection and a Datum. These control the layout parameters for the data. FSX requires data to be in Geographic Projection and WGS84 Datum. If your shapefile isn't in this format no compiling will occur.

So you will need to determine the format, most data will come with a 'metadata' file that lists the Projection/Datum and if not in the FSX format, it will need to be changed. There are a few free GIS tools that could be used to change the formatting.
Lance

zulfiqar

Post by zulfiqar » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:19 pm

Hi Meshman,

Thanks for the reply, the shapefile I have downloaded is from geofabrik - INDIA and I use Qgis.

zulfiqar

Post by zulfiqar » Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:22 pm

meshman wrote:One of the requirements for anything to compile is that it is in the correct 'format'.